Preparing To Go!

My name is Jaycee Taylor and I am a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. I’m going on a mission! On October 6, 2012, our prophet, President Thomas S. Monson, announced that boys could serve missions at age 18 instead of age 19, and girls at 19 instead of 21… That meant I could go! Actually deciding to serve a mission came as a shock to me because I had never reeeeally planned to go. It sounded like a good thing but I thought other life plans would get in the way before I turned 21. Well, being 19 when the announcement was made, I realized I had this wonderful opportunity and I knew that was what Heavenly Father wanted me to do. I received my call on November 14, 2012. Such an awesome day! The anticipation almost killed me, but it was fun for the moment not knowing where I would spend the next year and a half of my life.

My call read:

Dear Sister Taylor,You are hereby called to serve as a missionary of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. You are assigned to labor in the Philippines Naga Mission. It is anticipated that you will serve for a period of 18 months.You should report to the Provo Missionary Training Center of Wednesday, March 13, 2013. You will prepare to preach the gospel in the Tagalog language.

Pretty neat! So…. since then I have finished my third semester at BYU, applied and was accepted into the Advertising program (which will have to wait till I get back!), moved back home after being away for a year and a half, picked up my old high school job again of waitressing and have been trying to prepare in anyway I can to serve a faithful mission in the Philippines. Things sure get hard when you’re about to do something so good though. Luckily, I go soon and will be busy getting everything ready!

So I created this blog so my family can post my emails, pictures and other news from me while I’m away from home serving the Lord.

Leave a comment