Miracles Happen

Just a quick side note: The earthquake that hit the Philippines isn’t hear Jaycee. So although we haven’t heard from her since it happened, we are pretty confident that she is fine.

Also, her birthday is December 9th, so if you wanted to send her a card in the regular mail, you may want to do that now so that it for sure gets there in time. 🙂

So the neatest story of this week is about Sister Maricar. So I know I’ve talked about all the kids we teach and so we were just walking through the houses and I saw one of the kids in a house and there was a lady washing clothes inside too. I thought there was a chance it could be his mom or something and since we still haven’t really been able to start teaching any of the parents, I figured we could try talking to her and see if we could teach her. Well she actually wasn’t the mom of any of the kids we’ve been teaching but she does have 4 kids (3 boys and 1 baby girl), her husband works in Manila and she seemed totally okay with us teaching her. Well we went back two days later and taught her in the morning. We didn’t even teach very much but the Spirit was there and she just liked everything we taught. So I invited her to be baptized and she accepted! That was neat but you never really know how serious someone is until they start keep commitments. So our next lesson, she had read where she was supposed to in the pamphlet and she said she liked everything and thought it would help her family. We committed her to read the Introduction to the Book of Mormon and to keep praying. Next lesson, she the Introduction and went on! That’s always a good sign because it means they’re pretty serious. Well she also told us that she had gone to church a long time ago with a friend that was LDS and she has known members and it seems like it’s always been positive. That was a real testimony for me on the importance of just always having positive contact with people, either as a missionary or just as a member. All of us may not ever know all the effects of our kindness and good works but we never know what will come from it. Anyways so then we talked to her about going to conference and no problem she said she would go!

So here’s the story on conference. It was great! Well the two sessions I was able to really watch haha. So Saturday, Sister Prakash and I rode to Goa and watched the two sessions no problem (it was mostly just missionaries and a few members out of the whole stake). Well Sunday the bishop offered to drive his jeepney for free to all the members and investigators. So Sister Prakash and I went to Sister Maricar’s and met her and all of the 11 kids that wanted to go (8 of them are some of our “investigators” that we’ve been teaching.) Well we went to the side of the road to wait for the jeepney and it was taking forever! Apparently so many people showed up for the free ride that they filled up the first jeepney, then another, and then with us and a few more people we picked up, three jeepneys! So many people! And Americans don’t understand what “filling up a jeepney” is like. In the Philippines you fit as many people as you possible can on any sort of transportation. So with a jeepney, all the seats are filled, kids sitting on laps, people sitting of the floor of the jeepney, boys hanging off on the back and people hanging onto bars up top. So that was fun. I ended up sitting on the floor.

Since it took such a long time though, we ended up being about 45 minutes late for the first session. Then the ward provided lunch and then we watched the second session. Well, I guess I should have thought about this sooner, but trying to have 11 kids who don’t really understand English listen to conference is almost impossible. I brought crayons and a coloring book (thanks mom) but that just got out of hand and it was almost impossible to listen to any of the second session. So right now I’m trying to download the sessions so I watch them again but I might just have to wait till we get the Ensign and read them :/. But Saturday was really good and of course I loved all the talks on missionary work! Specifically for me as a missionary, I need to talk to more people so I’m going to try to be better about that. But the sessions I did really listen to, I got lots of notes but more importantly, specific things that I feel like Heavenly Father was trying to get me to learn. A lot of times I just had thoughts about things to write and it wasn’t really exactly what they were saying but I felt like it was more directed towards me so that was neat.

So we ended up having 11 investigators go to Goa for conference! So good but I’m not sure how many actually listened (which how can you blame them when it’s in a different language). But Sister Maricar did go and I know she felt the Spirit of conference. 🙂

Other random news… I killed an ant colony! Sooooo many ants but I sprayed and killed them all that were living in our apartment. Lots of unusual accomplishments as a missionary in the Philippines.

But it was a good week and I just have felt like I’ve been learning and growing so much. I just hope I can someday become the missionary I want to be though because I still have so much growing and learning to do! So everyone remember that as members, you’ve been asked to prepare a referral by Christmas and keep up the member missionary effort! Have a good week! Love you!

 Sister Taylor

Image

 

Jaycee modeling her new outfit I sent her in the mail. She’s so cute!

Image

 

The group of people waiting for the jeepney ride to the church to listen to conference!

 

Leave a Reply

